AATCC Elects New President

The members of the American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists (AATCC) have elected a new president-elect as well as regional representatives for the association's 2011 Board of Directors.
In January 2011, current AATCC President Fred Cook of Georgia Tech will step down from his current position to serve as immediate past-president for a two-year term. The association's new president will be R. Michael Tyndall, of Cotton Incorporated. President-elect Peter J. Hauser, of North Carolina State University's College of Textiles, elected this fall, will become AATCC President in 2013.
Chosen in 2008 for a two-year term as president-elect, Mike Tyndall has been a senior member of AATCC since 1976, and has served the association both at regional and international levels. On the international level, he has been active in several research and administrative committees. On the regional level, Tyndall has also been an active member of the Northern Piedmont Section and has served as section councilor to the AATCC Council. He has also served on the AATCC Foundation Board of Directors.
Tyndall earned a B.S. in textile chemistry and masters in textiles from North Carolina State University (NCSU). He also served as an adjunct industrial associate in the Textile Extension and Applied Research department of the College of Textiles at NCSU from 1997 to 2005. He began his career at Cotton Incorporated in 1974, where he is still employed today, as vice-president of product development and implementation. In the course of his duties, Tyndall has traveled globally and has gained extensive knowledge of the worldwide textile industry. He has also written several papers, published in various industry publications, including AATCC's Textile Chemist and Colorist. Tyndall has presented at several industry conferences and symposia, including AATCC's International Conference (IC).
When Tyndall begins his presidency in January of 2011, he will be serving as the 41st president of AATCC since Louis A. Olney of the Lowell Textile School, the founder and first president, began the association in 1921.
New president-elect Peter J. Hauser is a professor and director of graduate programs at NCSU's Textile Engineering, Chemistry, & Science department. A member of AATCC since 1977, Hauser has served on the association's Board of Directors, as chair of the chemical applications interest group, and on numerous technical and administrative committees. After receiving his undergraduate and graduate degrees from the department of chemistry at NCSU, Hauser began a career as an industrial research chemist that spanned 24 years and included positions with several textile manufacturers and textile chemical producers. He holds 10 U.S. patents in the areas of soil release, flame retardancy and low pollution dyeing. He has traveled extensively in the United States, Latin America and China providing technical assistance to textile manufacturers in all areas of textile wet processing. In 1997, Hauser joined the faculty of the College of Textiles at NCSU. He has published numerous papers and is the co-author of Chemical Finishing of Textiles published by Woodhead Publishing.
The regional board members elected to new terms on the Board of Directors include:
Adam R. Varley, Vartest Laboratories Inc., Central Atlantic Region (USA)
Guddo S. Nadiger, Bombay Textile Research Association, India Region
Alfred K. F. So, Introtech Ltd., International Region Leonard T. Farias, Cotton Incorporated, Midsouth Region (USA)
Richard A. Malachowski, New England Region (USA)
Alan Buttenhoff, Shaw Industries Group, Southern Region (USA)
Susan Matter, Nordstrom, Western Region (USA)
Thanks to the dedicated service of these officers, all volunteers donating their own time, AATCC is able to accomplish its work of test method development, education and communication that benefits the entire textile and related industries. 
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds