Sony Shutters 11 Stores in 11 States

Sony Electronics closed 11 stores in 11 states in March as the company opened a new store prototype in Los Angeles. The store closings bring Sony's store count to 45, including 29 standard locations and 16 outlet stores, and are part of the retailer's revamp of its "Sony Style" stores and website to simply "Sony."
According to a Sony spokesperson, the closings were "a result of our ongoing evaluations and careful review of our future direction. Sony continually evaluates all areas of our retail business to ensure that we are offering the best consumer experience while maximizing profitability."
Stores were closed in Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania, according to published sources.
Sony opened its first newly branded Sony store at the Westfield Century City mall in Los Angeles, CA. The 4,200-square-foot store is designed to be interactive and Sony will use the store to pilot test new customer-engaging technologies.
For related content: Sony Tests Customer-Engaging Technologies at Newest Store
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds